Menus: Placeholders Everywhere

Worked on fixing the logic handling the game’s flow and finally added a pause function, which felt a lot harder than I thought it should have due to my convoluted code. I had to go around telling everything to stop updating, because there didn’t seem to be a simple way to just pause one loop while still updating the pause menu. Threw together some placeholder textures for each part.

Didn't want to just put text

One nice thing I learned was getting transparent textures to work.  I needed that to have textured buttons that look like just text floating above the background.

Main menu. The title kind of sounds silly the more I type it

I’ve been looking through independent games that I’ve played or heard about, trying to find out how they do things and what things should look like.

An incredibly shoddy looking pause menu

Leave a Reply

