Progress, or lack thereof

Money? I don't owe you any


A small update…

I really haven’t moved very far from where I was last. I made indicator bars (Health bars, but they don’t show health), and finally added a graze box and hit box, so now I check against those instead of checking against the player model for hits. I’ve had the hit box for a while, but there was some funky problem where I couldn’t check for collisions against it for some reason. I resolved it by just putting all of the geometry objects in the main class instead of having them as instance variables of the player object. I’m sure that’s a bad thing, and the problem is probably a misunderstanding of how the engine I’m using works. Don’t care. Any game I make after this will almost certainly not use this code anyway.

The problem is: it looks like, well, shit. I think there’s a core problem with this game project. I want it to have a 3rd person view with the camera closely following the player, but I also want it to be close to 2d shooters where the bullets that hit you will only be on one plane. Ostensibly, if it’s going to be a ‘bullet hell’ game, there will be a lot of side to side movement with frequent changes in direction. Now, here’s my problem: go fire up a game, any game with a third person view, and either rapidly press one direction, both directions, or if you have a joy stick, rotate the movement stick in a circle. It’ll probably look terrible, with the character repeatedly cycling through transition poses (Not Assassin’s Creed, though. Or at least, I think. I don’t remember. Just to be an asshole this is one of the first things I do when I play a game, to see how the devs handle the player jerking around. I think it was Assassin’s creed that impressed me when I did this, but maybe it was another game. In any case, AC’s animations and the way the player character moved was damn beautiful. Too bad I didn’t really enjoy the game). Usually that doesn’t matter, because you usually don’t need to do that. But in STGs, you might. So what do I do? I don’t know. Maybe I’ll just make the camera reaaally far away.

One solution that involves changing how the game works would be to change everything back to having everything just move vertically (forward in this case), and make it look like Master Afterburner on a flat plane. With the game like this, the left/right direction animations can be more subtle, and all I’d have to do is rotate the character model a bit, with a lot less overall movement. That would mean no more radial nonsense, but I was kind of set on making the game ‘radial.’ Damn it…
Looks like there’s not much else to do.

Leave a Reply

