Stage 1

Uploaded a video of stage one, definitely still needs fine tuning though:

You know what I did this morning for 4 hours? I was trying to decide how to animate the main menu background. How I wanted to do it initially was have the actual 3D scene behind the menu, and have it rendered real time. It was a real pain getting it to animate like I had it in Blender, though, and on top of that, I couldn’t get the post-processing effects to match what I had in Gimp, so I went ahead and made a video out of the Blender animation with Fraps, then converted the video into .png frames.

Background Title Scene

Now, I’ve never worked with video editing, so guess how I did the editing?

I post-processed each animation frame by hand:

Bloom + Radial

The code I used for animated textures was bugging out. I have no idea what happened to it, so after all that time of laying out the frames to be fed to a UV-texture-scroller-animator, I ended up saving each frame individually, storing them each as textures, and having the title background swap between frames on very short intervals. Not very elegant, but it worked. ‘Whatever.’

Leave a Reply

