2 Worker Questions

So I went to a practice SAT site and boy it was rough, embarrassingly enough

I had to stop and pull out notepad.exe on the second question and think for far too long than I’m willing to admit

20140615_01

It was the ‘A worker does job in X days, B and A together do it in Y days, how long does B take doing it alone?’ type questions.

After doing it I tried to make a generator for those type of questions where all values involved were integers.  I couldn’t find a pattern though, so I just generated a table of all the values where the equation worked and all values were ints.  All the values under 30, that is.

The equation was like, AB / (A+B) = x, where A is number of days for A, B is number of days for B, and x is number of days for both

………………………………..

Wow, I just realized that’s the average.  Man I feel dumb
Edit: I thought about it for again and realized that’s not the average at all.  What was I talking about??? Whatever math sucks

It’s been too long.  I got a 780 on math when I took it but now.. I might get less than 600 HEHEHE
I guess it’s a small preview for me of how older people typically become awful at math.  If you don’t use math for more than calculating tips for the waiter it really does go away.

Running into that got me a little more motivated on doing questions.  I think I’ll try to do a couple more SAT math type questions, and then call it quits and release for this one

Leave a Reply

