Today I Learned: Bad Deals

That bad deals are very easily to get.

That really shouldn’t have been a lesson I learned so late, but I was reminded of it today.  On a whim, I logged in to my AT&T account.  Well, not entirely on a whim.  I’ve been long considering switching cell phone service provider because I’ve been paying what I’ve felt to be far too much for what I’m asking.  For the past 3 years, I’ve paid 2$ shy of 100$ a month for 450 minutes, 120? texts, and 3GB of data.  For the longest time I’ve thought… surely I’m doing something wrong.  It turns out that yes, I have been doing something wrong.

The site suggested I switched from my plan to another plan that has unlimited minutes, unlimited texts, and 3GB of data, for 60$ monthly.  I didn’t see any drawbacks, so I just went with it this morning.  When I first signed up I kind of glossed over the options and selected the lowest I could manage with, not really assessing what I was reading (as I’m wont to do).  I suppose I, again, have not given a proper appraisal on the new plan I’ve just now gotten myself into, but what I do know is it helps my bottom line, and for the time being that’s good enough.

My reasoning is, or rather, WAS, that plenty of other people go through this process, and if a plan that makes no fiscal sense were available it would be promptly removed after some complaints.  What I want to think is that the free market will cull suboptimal purchasing options from a seller’s inventory, freeing me from the burden of doing any pre-consumption research.  I’ve been given plenty of opportunities to see that isn’t really true, and I don’t blame anyone but myself.

So in summary, don’t pay 100$ for a 3GB cell phone plan, it’s dumb?

3 Comments on “Today I Learned: Bad Deals”

  1. Hyun Lee says:

    Congratulations! You’re learning to be an adult!

    By the way, I currently pay ~$5.50 for about the same plan you’re currently getting 😛


Leave a Reply

