Today I Learned: Bike Cable Management

Bike is alive again!

The LED controller allowed for several colors, but I only liked red and white (maybe light purple).

First time removing the fairings, and the fuel tanks.  While I didn’t have the new fuel tank, my bike sat there naked for maybe a week.  I did play around with the LEDs, confirming that they work, and imagining where they would go.

The first thing I replaced was the shift lever.  It was bent out of shape, and I questioned the integrity of the little metal frame the peg was mounted on.  The left foot peg was bent out of shape as well.  I bought a factory new shift lever, and a used left peg + shift assembly someone must have taken out of their own bike.  The used assembly had a bent shift lever too, but it’s not like I ever planned to use it.  The rubber sleeve that goes over the lever was pretty hard to get on.  The replacement was really quick though.  Screws in, screws out.  I’m glad the damage was on things that were replaceable.  The tank dent hurt, but it wasn’t anything that couldn’t be sorted out.

The new tank just got delivered today, and I spent all evening putting it in and wiring up the LEDs, and replacing the fairings.  As with anything I was a little haphazard with the LED locations, but I’m happy with how it turned out.

Had my first ride out since the crash.  It was awful.  I locked the rear tire while switching gears too quickly at least once, I had a lot of throttle with the clutch held in, and I’m now pretty scared of leaning in turns.  Where I used to have complete faith I wouldn’t fall over when turning, I now picture myself sliding out every time I lean.  It’s almost like starting all over again.

The oil is due for a change, so I’ll have to take care of that sometime this week, or weekend.  I need to make shells for this weekend as well… the Garden State Grand.

Leave a Reply

